<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d19328670\x26blogName\x3dRob+%26+The+Blogosphere\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dSILVER\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://andwalkaway.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://andwalkaway.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d6989461412476977988', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

Rob & The Blogosphere

People | Tech | Health | Pop Culture

New Seven Wonders of the World Announced

Tuesday, July 10, 2007

100 million votes were cast to find the new Seven Wonders.

A new version of the Seven Wonders of the World has been drawn up, based on over 100 million votes cast from people in 200 countries.

Taj Mahal, new Seven Wonders of the World
The Taj Mahal has been voted as one of the new World Wonders

The winners were announced on July 7, and include the Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu in Peru and the Taj Mahal in India.

The winners, based on an online poll by New 7 Wonders of the World, were announced during a ceremony in Lisbon, attended by American actress Hilary Swank, pop star Jennifer Lopez and tenor Jose Carreras.

The vote, which was drawn from 21 contenders, attracted some cristicism, including from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), which said last week that the new wonders of the world should not be chosen in a popular vote.

Other contenders included the Great Pyrmaid of Giza (the only remaining wonder of the ancient world), the Acropolis in Athens, the Eiffel Tower, Ankor in Cambodia and the Moai statues of Easter Island.

The new Seven Wonders in full are:

World Wonder | Chichen Itza

World Wonder | Christ the Redeemer

World Wonder | The Great Wall

World Wonder | Machu Picchu

World Wonder | Petra

World Wonder | Roman Colloseum

World Wonder | Taj Mahal

Labels: , , , ,

posted by Admin, 7/10/2007 09:08:00 AM
posted by Doubting Thomas, 7/10/2007 09:08:00 AM | link | |